AND THE WINNERS ARE… The Animal Health Trust UK Equestrian Awards 2013

Author: No Comments Share:
AnimalHealthTrustLogo - AND THE WINNERS ARE… The Animal Health Trust UK Equestrian Awards 2013

AnimalHealthTrustLogo 150x150 - AND THE WINNERS ARE… The Animal Health Trust UK Equestrian Awards 2013More than 400 people from the equestrian world attended the Animal Health Trust’s Awards evening at the Lancaster London on Thursday 7 November, to celebrate equestrian excellence in 2013.

This year, Mike Tucker and Zoey Bird had the unique privilege of hosting the 25th anniversary of the Awards ceremony. Awards were presented to respective winners by HRH The Princess Royal in seven categories – Dressage, Eventing, Showjumping, Racing, Voluntary Service, Veterinary and the Animal Health Trust Special Award.

The full list of winners include:
Dressage Award, sponsored by Merix Pharmaceutical Corp., awarded to: Charlotte Dujardin – In 2013 Charlotte Dujardin and Valegro wowed the world at the European Championships in Denmark, achieving two individual gold medals for the Grand Prix Special and Grand Prix Freestyle. They also beat the World Record, achieving a record 85.942% for the Grand Prix.
Eventing Award, awarded to: Bramham International Horse Trials – Bramham Horse Trials was initiated 40 years ago by George Lane Fox at his family seat at Bramham Park . It has become one of the leading three star events in the world and celebrated its 40th anniversary this year under the guidance of George’s son, Nick Lane Fox.
Showjumping Award, sponsored by British Showjumping, awarded to: Katrina Moore – Katrina Moore has led the GB Pony Team for the last 18 years, filling the Chef d’Equipe’s role for the first time in Bartahus , Denmark in 1996. During this time GB has won 22 European team and individual gold medals, eight European team and individual silver medals and six European individual bronze medals.
Racing Award, sponsored by Betsi, awarded to: Sir Henry Cecil (posthumously), collected by Lady Jane Cecil – the ten-time champion racehorse trainer, based in Newmarket was, and still remains, one of British racing’s most famous personalities as well as one of the industry’s most respected trainers. He won 25 British Classics, including the Derby on four occasions and has a total of no less than 75 Royal Ascot victories to his name.
Veterinary Award awarded to: Sue Dyson – Dr Sue Dyson is Head of Clinical Orthopaedics at the Animal Health Trust’s Equine Clinic. Sue is a world-renowned expert in equine orthopaedics with a particular interest in lameness and poor performance in sports horses, and is also an expert in diagnostic imaging.
Sue has lectured internationally and published more than 200 refereed papers in scientific journals, and has been awarded numerous awards for orthopaedics, radiology, as well as earning her place in the International Veterinaries Hall of Fame.
Voluntary Award, sponsored by South Essex Insurance Brokers, awarded to: Ebony Horse Club – Ebony Horse Club works with young people in Brixton and Lambeth (some of the most disadvantaged inner city neighbourhoods in the country), offering horse riding, outdoor activities and mentoring. Some of its members have gone on to jobs within the horse world, including training at the British Racing School . And after years of travelling to other riding schools across the capital, Ebony opened its own equestrian centre in Brixton in 2011.
Animal Health Trust Special Award awarded to: Rob Hoekstra – Rob Hoekstra was appointed Performance Manager to the World Class Showjumping Programme in February 2010. Rob represented Holland on the Junior Showjumping team aged 14. Since changing nationality he has represented Britain on seven Nations cup teams, including helping the team secure a victory. He has won numerous international competitions and Grand Prix, competed in three World Cups and won the Hickstead Derby in 1999 on Lionel II.

This year an additional award was presented to Desi Dillingham MBE, for her unique contributions to the equestrian world over the past 10 years, and more specifically for her role as Chair of the Animal Health Trust Equestrian Awards Organising Committee for the past decade.

Chloë Bowler, Corporate Fundraising Manager at the Animal Health Trust, said: “The 25th anniversary of the Animal Health Trust UK Equestrian Awards was a huge celebration of equestrian talent and contribution. This year nominations recognised contribution and achievement over the last 25 years, which showcased a great array of talented individuals and horses.

“We are very grateful to our President, HRH The Princess Royal, for attending the evening, and presenting the winners with their awards. We are also grateful to all our sponsors who make this event possible each year.

“The Equestrian Awards is the flagship event in our Fundraising Calendar, raising vital funds to continue our work fighting disease and injury in animals. We are thrilled that it has been so well supported yet again, and look forward to seeing everyone next year”.

Previous Article

Riding for the Disabled receive £100,000 from players of People’s Postcode Lottery

Next Article

Give an ‘Eventful’ Gift This Christmas

You may also like

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.