Great Britain’s Showjumping 2015 European Squad Named

Author: 1 Comment Share:
image0033 436x291 - Great Britain’s Showjumping 2015 European Squad Named

image0033 269x300 - Great Britain’s Showjumping 2015 European Squad NamedBritish Showjumping selectors have announced the UK Sport National Lottery funded showjumping squad for the upcoming FEI European Championships, which take place in Aachen, Germany (19-23 August 2015).

 This summer’s event is the last major Championship before next year’s Olympic Games; Great Britain’s jumpers will be looking to cement their place for Rio 2016 at this final qualifying event.

 The selected team has been named as (in alphabetical order):


Joe Clee (37) who is based in Belgium with Ludwig Criel’s Utamaro d’Ecaussines

Ben Maher MBE (32) from Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire with Tatiana Korsakova’s British bred Diva II

Jessica Mendoza (19) who is based in The Netherlands with Sarah Mendoza’s British bred Spirit T

Michael Whitaker (55) from Whatton, Nottinghamshire with Beverley Widdowson’s Cassionato

 Travelling reserve:


Guy Williams (44) who is based in France, with Charlotte Baines’ and his own Titus II

 Chef d’Equipe Di Lampard commented; “We are all entirely focussed on the job we have ahead of us. Qualifying for Rio is at the forefront of our minds and we are absolutely committed to giving Great Britain the chance to defend the Team Gold title which was won at London 2012. We move forward to Aachen as a strong united team and are looking forward to the Championships and all it bringNon-travelling reserves (in order of selection):

 Robert Whitaker (32) from Sidcup, Kent with Mandy Hall IV

William Whitaker (26) from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire with Elisabeth Fredlund’s Fandango

 All four selected athletes contest the team competition (with the three best scores counting); the top twenty-five horse/rider combinations will be invited to contest the Grand Prix from which the Individual medals are decided.

 There will be three Olympic qualifying places awarded from the 2015 European Championships in Aachen. These places will be awarded to the highest placed nations after the Team Final (not counting any nations who have already qualified). The nations that have already achieved qualification for Rio 2016 and who will be competing at the European Championships are: The Netherlands, France, Germany and Sweden. 

 Equestrian Team GBR is supported by the UK Sport National Lottery funded World Class Programme; the British teams are very grateful to the support they receive from official Team GBR suppliers Dodson & Horrell, Equi-Trek, Land Rover, NAF, NuuMed, Point Two Equine, Tagg Equestrian and Toggi.


Jessica Mendoza and William Whitaker are both members of the UK Sport National Lottery funded World Class Programme Podium Potential squad

Previous Article

Harry Hall’s Yard Visit programme, launched in June, is going from strength to strength.

Next Article

Don’t miss Your Horse Live

You may also like

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.