Can Tina Fletcher win the Carpetright Derby for the second year in a row?

Author: No Comments Share:

Last year Tina Fletcher became the first lady rider to win the Hickstead Derby for 38 years. Next month, she hopes to become the first woman to win the most famous of showjumping classes on two consecutive occasions.

Tina’s Carpetright Derby winner, the quirky but talented Promised Land, has jumped in the class twice and is yet to have a single pole down – an incredible achievement considering there’s only been 53 clear rounds in the Derby since it was first run in 1961.

A number of horses have won the Hickstead Derby multiple times. Boomerang and Eddie Macken are the only combination to win four times, taking home the famous trophy every year from 1976-1979. Michael Whitaker and Mon Santa won it three consecutive times (1991-1993), Peter Charles did the same with Corrada (2001-2003), while William Funnell and Cortaflex Mondriaan won in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

Tina and Promised Land came very close to winning in 2010, in the horse’s first Derby attempt. They rode a perfect double clear, only for Guy Williams and Skip Two Ramiro to match their feat in a quicker time. It meant Tina became the second rider ever to jump double clear in the Hickstead Derby but to not win – the only other rider to do so was Tim Stockdale and Wiston Bridget in 2000. Having finished tantalisingly close on two occasions, Tina Fletcher was certainly due a win in 2011 – and she duly jumped the only clear round to net the £40,000 first prize.

The brainchild of Hickstead founder Douglas Bunn, the Hickstead Derby was first held in 1961 and the famous course has barely changed in the years since. With fences like the Devil’s Dyke, the towering Bank with its 10ft 6in drop, the tricky double of water ditches and one of the widest water jumps in the world, it is little wonder that clear rounds are such a rarity and why the class has become so iconic in the horse world.

The Carpetright Derby is the grand finale of Hickstead’s June meeting, and this year it will take place at 2.30pm on Sunday 24 June. Riders have to qualify for the Carpetright Derby by competing in Friday’s Bunn Leisure Derby Trial, last year won by Peter Charles and Murka’s Vindicat W. The British Speed Derby on Saturday will see riders and horses go over Hickstead’s permanent obstacles at the gallop – last year the class was won for the second time by Hickstead’s own Shane Breen. Sky Sports will also be televising live action from Hickstead every afternoon from Friday 22 to Sunday 24 June.

With showing classes, scurry driving, the celebrity polo match, hundreds of tradestands and entertainment for all the family, a trip to Hickstead offers the perfect day out. A range of hospitality options are available, including private boxes, ringside lodges, the exclusive 120-seater Members’ Restaurant and the Beethoven Suite, named after Douglas Bunn’s most famous horse. Admission prices start from just £8 per person. To book tickets, go to or call 01273 834315.

Timetable – the International Arena (subject to alteration)


10:15am The Camardo Coffee 1.35m Open Championship
To follow The Equiport Novice Championship
To follow The Hickstead Annual Grade C Championship
1:00pm The Stoner Jewellers Vase
3:00pm Presentation: The British Private Driving Derby (Private Driving Championship)
& The Driving Concours D’Elegance
3:15pm Presentation: The Supreme Trade Turnout Championship
3:45pm The Bunn Leisure Derby Tankard


9:30am The Hickstead 1.25m Open Championship
To follow The British Five Year Old Jumping Championship
To follow The Equimax British Six Year Old Jumping Championship
11:45am The Bunn Leisure Derby Trial
2:30pm Final Judging: The Small Hunter Championship
2:45pm Presentation: The Olympia Heritage Ridden Mountain & Moorland Championship
3:00pm Presentation: The Supreme Cob Championship
3:30pm The Hickstead Master’s Challenge


8:45am The Animo Amateur Championship
10:15am The Beethoven 7 & 8 Year Old Championship
12:00pm The Hickstead Derby Trophy
2:30pm The Osborne Refrigerators Scurry Driving Championship
3:00pm Presentation: The Equimax Supreme Hack Championship
3:30pm The Bunn Leisure Speed Derby
7:00pm The Derby Polo Challenge (ON THE BUNN LEISURE WARM UP ARENA)


10:45am The Public Course Walk of the Carpetright Derby
11:00am The Romford Band of the Royal British Legion
11:35am The End of the Public Course Walk
11:40am Presentation: The Supreme Coloured Horse Ridden Championship
12:00pm The Equimax Under 25 Masters
12:40pm Presentation: The Gray Horseboxes Supreme Hunter Championship
1:10pm Final Judging: The Tattersalls & ROR Thoroughbred Show Horse Championship
1:30pm The Osborne Refrigerators Celebrity Scurry
1:55pm The Romford Band of the Royal British Legion
2:10pm Parade of Riders in the Carpetright Derby
2:30pm The Carpetright Derby

Previous Article


Next Article

BHS TREC Championships of Great Britain finds new sponsor

You may also like

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.